Telepath "Mental Mutations" LP

Apollon Records

Regular price $27.00

Telepath - Mental Mutations (LP)
This is an Apollon Records release.

Telepath is a bit of a playground for Jacob Holm-Lupo when he is away from his main projects, White Willow and The Opium Cartel. 

“The whole thing started during a lengthy visit from family in the Spring of 2019. Being a bit of an introvert, I would have to sneak away from the festivities at night and seek refuge in my studio to catch a breath from all the socializing, and before I knew it three weeks had gone by and I had written, recorded and mixed an album. Telepath is basically a tribute to the music I grew up with, much like The Opium Cartel. But where The Opium Cartel mines the pop music I listened to in the 80s, Telepath goes a bit further back, to the hard rock and metal that was my very first musical love. A bit of thrash, a bit of doom, and a fair dash of 70s hard rock has gone into my cauldron of songs, and also more than a little of the kind of soundtrack music that accompanied the 80s horror flicks me and my friends used to love to watch (I still do!). So there’s that meeting of crunchy guitars and bangin’ drums with the synth sounds of Goblin, Fabio Frizzi and John Carpenter that basically defines Telepath. 

I never intended for this to become an album, so recording these songs was a pure exercise in fun, experimentation and enjoyment. I utilized every dirty trick in the book to create the illusion of a band, while it was always basically me and my instruments and tools. Guitars, synths, drum machines, sequencers, loops, programming and samples have all been used to realize the tunes, but while I used state of the art tech to put it all together, I also wanted things to be as spontaneous as possible, so all instrument recordings are first takes, and I never went back to correct mistakes, whether it was a bum note or a missed beat from a sequencer, or indeed my own off-key singing. Thankfully the album is 95% instrumental.”


  1. Mourner’s Hill
  2. To The Grave
  3. Tormentor Of The Young
  4. Tyrellian
  5. No More Wishes
  6. Race Into The Wasteland
  7. Bad Machine
  8. Escape From The Witch House
  9. The Dark Blood Of Fate
  10. Lullaby For Deep Waters

Format: LP
Artist: Telepath
Release Date: October 18, 2019
Cat. No.: AP057LP