Melanie Mau & Martin Schnella "The Rainbow Tree" CD

Melanie Mau & Martin Schnella

Regular price €14,95

Melanie Mau & Martin Schnella – The Rainbow Tree (CD)

The Rainbow Tree is the 4th cover album released by the German Acoustic Duo Melanie Mau & Martin Schnella. Their unique acoustic interpretations of Progressive Rock and Metal classics have gathered much international attention to Melanie and Martin and their co-musicians Lars Lehmann (bass), Mathias Ruck (vocals) and Simon Schröder (percussion) during the last few years. The Rainbow Tree continues this musical journey with completely different acoustic arrangements of Prog Classics by Kansas, Gentle Giant, Rush, Porcupine Tree, Peter Gabriel and many more.

Melanie Mau & Martin Schnella give these songs their own personal note, focusing on 3-part vocal harmonies, fine and powerful acoustic guitars together with their passion for Celtic sounds. The latter are highlighted by the contribution of their longtime co-musicians and friends Jens Kommnick and Rolf Wagels. Because of their shows at ProgStock Festival in New Jersey in 2019 and 2022, the collaboration with other musicians of the international Progressive Rock scene has grown. So, the idea was born to record an acoustic version of the Kansas classic Song For America together with Rachel Flowers, Dave Meros (Spock’s Beard, Pattern Seeking Animals) and Dennis Atlas (Pattern Seeking Animals).

The Rainbow Tree shows the versatility of music of different decades and genres interpreted in harmony. 

Melanie Mau – Vocals
Martin Schnella – Vocals, Acoustic Guitars, Additional Percussion
Mathias Ruck - Vocals
Lars Lehmann – Bass Guitar, Fretless Bass
Simon Schroder – Percussion

Guest Musicians:
Jens Kommnick – Uilleann Pipes, Whistle, Cello, Acoustic Guitar, Bouzouki, Vocals
Rolf Wagels – Bodhran
Dave Meros – Bass Guitar
Rachel Flowers – Flute, Vocals
Dennis Atlas - Vocals


  1. Free Hand – Medley (Gentle Giant)
  2. Song For America (Kansas)
  3. Something Happened On The Way To Heaven (Phil Collins)
  4. Rainbow Demon (Uriah Heep)
  5. Alleviate (Leprous)
  6. Teardrop (Massive Attack)
  7. A Love That Never Dies (Neal Morse Band)
  8. Secret World (Peter Gabriel)
  9. Tom Sawyer (Rush)
  10. Blackest Eyes / The Sound Of Muzak / Halo (Porcupine Tree)
  11. Hallowed Be Thy Name / For The Greater Good Of God (Iron Maiden)
  12. Noise (Nightwish)
  13. Ghost Of Perdition (Opeth)
  14. Siuil A Ruin (Clannad)

Format: CD
Artist: Melanie Mau & Martin Schnella
Release Date: December 1, 2023