Weserbergland "Sehr Kosmisch Ganz Progisch" LP

Apollon Records

Regular price ¥3,100

Weserbergland - Sehr Kosmisch Ganz Progisch (LP)
This is an Apollon Records release.

Sehr Kosmisch Ganz Progisch by Weserbergland (Oslo, Norway) is an homage to the 70s Kraut rock scene as seen through the eyes of Ketil Vestrum Einarsen. Ketil is a veteran flutist of the Norwegian prog rock scene, having been a part of White Willow for almost 20 years. He has also been a member of Jaga Jazzist and played on more than fifty albums, with bands like Motorpsycho and Geir Lysnes Listening Ensemble. As a composer, he has written music for 10 documentaries and one TV series (all of this together with Lars Fredrik Frøislie (Wobbler, White Willow, etc.)

Sehr Kosmisch Ganz Progisch is Ketil’s debut as a band leader. He has been a Kraut rock enthusiast since he discovered the music through the record collection of his friend´s hippie father in the early 90s, so to take this musical turn was a very natural thing for him. And it´s quite easy to hear the inspiration of bands like Tangerine Dream, Can, Cluster, Harmonia and others. But, it´s not a retro sounding album, the sound is also influenced by Ketil’s former band, Jaga Jazzist and similar bands. Of course, there´s a huge dose of 70s era progressive rock in there, too.

The result is a very unique and demanding album. The simplicity of Kraut rock is juxtaposed or mixed with a complete sensory overload of multitracking, heavy use of effects, and compositional techniques from contemporary or classical music.

Ketil plays the flute, clarinet, guitar, keyboards and provides programming. Mattias Olsson of Änglagård fame provides a reimagined approach to the motoric beat throughout the album, and Gaute Storsve and Jacob Holm-Lupo (White Willow) shares duties on bass and guitar. The album also features guest musicians from Jaga Jazzist, Wobbler, Henry Fool etc. The album was mixed and mastered by Jacob Holm-Lupo.

Side A:

  1. Tanzen Und Springen
  2. Das Trinklied Vom Jammer Der Erde

Side B:

  1. Kunst Der Fuge
  2. Tristrant

Format: LP
Artist: Weserbergland
Release Date: May 26, 2017
Cat. No.: ARP004LP