Gandalf's Fist "Road to Darkness" CD

Gandalf's Fist

Regular price $23.00

Gandalf’s Fist – Road to Darkness (CD)

Road To Darkness is what the band consider their first real album, originally released in 2011.

The album was recorded over the course of a weekend by Dean and Luke and propelled them into micro-stardom! Even though the album had several short-run releases over the years, it had never befitted from a high-quality packaging and glass-pressed master … until now!

But that’s not all! They took the 7-year anniversary as the prime opportunity to release Road To Darkenss: Special Edition. If you have already sampled Universal Wanderer: Special Edition, you will know this is no simple remaster or repackaging, but an entirely new listening experience.

Using the original multi-track sessions and compositions, the release retains the essence and spirit of the original album but brings the sonic palette up to date with the intention being it can sit seamlessly alongside their other releases.

Road to Darkness is a sinister space-rock re-imagining of The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by Lyman Frank Baum, chronicling the tale of a young girl transported to the alien world of Io by an evil sorcerer. 

Inspired by Gandalf's Fist's love of science fiction and fantasy and influenced by 70's era progressive rock, the sound could be roughly categorized as Arthur C Clarke taking guitar lessons from David Gilmour before jumping into a Delorean to kidnap L Frank Baum. 

It's a mix of Classic-Rock style songs, instrumental sections, hard rock riffs, blues solos, narrative passages and harmonious choruses. With the odd smattering of shanty/folk thrown in for good measure! 


  • Dean Marsh – Vocals, Guitars, Bass, Synth
  • Stefan Hepe – Drums and Percussion
  • Luke Severn – Vocals, Narration

Additional Musicians:

  • Alicia Marsh – Narration
  • Natasha Jaffe – Cello on “Untrodden Ways”


  1. No Place Cyclone
  2. Emerald Eyes
  3. Conjurer Of Cheap Tricks
  4. Into The Dark (Containing Emerald Eyes Reprise)
  5. Twilight At The Gates Of The Prism Moon
  6. The Sulfur Highways Of Io
  7. Untrodden Ways
  8. Road To Darkness
  9. The Council Of Anderson
  10. Assorted Lunatics


    Format: CD
    Artist: Gandalf’s Fist
    Release Date: 2011/October 22, 2018
    Cat. No.: NKP007