AI Phoenix "The Driver Is Dead" LP (NEW RELEASE)

Apollon Records

Regular price $24.00

AI Phoenix - The Driver Is Dead (LP)
This is an Apollon Records release.

Presented now for the first time on Vinyl.

A true Norwegian underground classic. Recorded mostly live in a room during November 1999, this album captures something unique and personal. Although they would continue to record quite popular albums and be nominated for best rock album by the Norwegian Grammy Award, The Driver Is Dead would become AI Phoenix’s most defining and influential work to date. It would give them global attention and fan base when legendary Glitterhouse Records signed them for international release. These days, fans are actually crossing oceans to attend their rare live shows. AI Phoenix brought something new to the Norwegian music scene and their sophomore album The Driver Is Dead was well received by both press, radio and a surprising amount of record buyers. It was album of the week at NRKP3 (Norwegian Broadcast Company), with rave reviews everywhere. The Driver Is Dead was the first album to be released by Racing Junior, an Oslo based label also building up artists like St. Thomas, Lionheart Brothers and releasing albums by artists Jens Lekman and Daniel Johnston in Norway.

Check them out here:


  1. We Think You Are Very Brave
  2. Wishinglot
  3. Snow And Light
  4. This Is Close
  5. The Thief And The Riversong
  6. Killer, Killer Radio Thriller
  7. If You Ever Saw Her Name
  8. Mercury
  9. Institution
  10. The Sound Of Troy
  11. Volga Beach Hotel
  12. Hey, The Driver Is Dead, We Cry

Format: Vinyl
Artist: AI Phoenix
Release Date: April 5, 2024
Cat. No.: APR026LP