Apogee "Through the Gate" CD (NEW ARTIST)

Progressive Promotion Records

Regular price $16.00

Apogee - Through the Gate (CD)
This is a Progressive Promotion Records release.

Album number 12 by mastermind Arne Schäfer and his congenial partner Eberhard Graef. As always, a great neo-, retro-prog album with great long tracks.

Arne writes - “The new Apogee album Through the Gate is stylistically a little more diversified. Based on the elements of classic progressive rock (see Jethro Tull, Yes, Genesis, Gentle Giant, ELP, UK, Rush), the musical spectrum also extends to influences from classical, folk rock and heavy rock and there are even influences in the title track Clear jazz influences woven in. The album contains 4 long tracks ranging from 12 to 16 minutes in length and two shorter pieces. As always, the pieces are structurally very complex, contain large-scale tension, many odd rhythms and harmonic modulations, but also atmospheric elements, catchy refrains, improvised guitar solos and hymn-like passages, as well as Apogee-typical orchestrations. During the production, I once again placed a lot of emphasis on natural dynamics and transparency, so that every instrument in the mix remains clearly identifiable. Like on the last Apogee albums, Ebi Graef plays drums and I play all the other instruments. For the album cover we used beautiful astronomical photographs by Versus X technician Andreas Tofahrn, who also created the album layout.”


  • Arne Schafer – Lead and Backing Vocals, Electric and Acoustic Guitars, Keyboards, Bass, Orchestrations
  • Eberhard Graef – Drums and Percussion

Have a look and listen here:


  1. No One But Ourselves
  2. Emotional Feedback
  3. At The Crossroads
  4. Through The Gate
  5. Keep The Flame
  6. The Turning Point

Format: CD
Artist: Apogee
Release Date: November 3, 2023