Big Big Train "Summer Shall Not Fade: Live at Loreley" BluRay/2CD

Big Big Train

Regular price $32.00

Big Big Train - Summer Shall Not Fade: Live At Loreley (BluRay/2CD)

Big Big Train are proud to announce the release of Summer Shall Not Fade: Live At Loreley, a blu-ray and double CD set of the band’s legendary performance at the Night Of The Prog festival on 13 July 2018 at Loreley in Germany.

The 13-song set runs to almost 130 minutes. It includes classic material from English Electric, Folklore, and Grimspound studio albums, as well as fan favourite deep cuts Kingmaker and Summer’s Lease. The performance features the full Big Big Train live band, including the late David Longdon, plus a five-piece brass section and is made even more remarkable by the fact that it was only the band’s eighth live show in this incarnation.

Over the following years, the show has taken on an almost mythical reputation among the band’s fans, aka The Passengers, as one of the best the band ever performed.

Big Big Train founder Gregory Spawton says of the show: “Loreley was a real coming of age experience for Big Big Train as a live band. The stars aligned perfectly for us. It was a truly magical night with the band performing brilliantly and a wonderfully welcoming audience as they and we enjoyed the glorious outdoor setting.

Gregory’s sentiments are shared by drummer Nick D’Virgilio: “I have been blessed to play some amazing shows with Tears For Fears, Cirque du Soleil, Spock’s Beard and many others during my career. But the BBT show at Loreley was off the charts. It’s hard to believe that this was only our eighth performance together. Every second was simply awesome.”

The show features the late David Longdon on vocals and flute. Rikard Sjöblom, the band’s guitarist and keyboard player, remembers David’s performance well: “David was an absolute star, his vocal performance and the way he commanded the stage were both extraordinary. Loreley is an amazing record of our precious time together with him. The show is one of the highlights of my life.”

“Big Big Train were latecomers to the stage, so they threw everything into their live performance, which connected with audiences on a musical, visual and spiritual level. Their star was rising. But as this astonishing Blu-Ray reveals, BBT were only just getting started” ~ Dave Ling, Classic Rock

This release is an All Region Blu-Ray/2CD digipack release with full color 16-page booklet with audio mixed in both 5.1 and Stereo by BBT’s resident sound engineer, Rob Aubrey.



  1. The First Rebreather
  2. Folklore
  3. A Mead Hall In Winter
  4. Kingmaker
  5. Summer’s Lease
  6. Brave Captain
  7. Prelude And Fugue
  8. Judas Unrepentant
  9. The Transit Of Venus Across The Sun
  10. The Permanent Way
  11. East Coast Racer
  12. Encore
  13. Drums And Brass
  14. Wassail


  1. The First Rebreather
  2. Folklore
  3. A Mead Hall In Winter
  4. Kingmaker
  5. Summer’s Lease
  6. Brave Captain


  1. Prelude And Fugue
  2. Judas Unrepentant
  3. The Transit Of Venus Across The Sun
  4. The Permanent Way
  5. East Coast Racer
  6. Encore
  7. Drums And Brass
  8. Wassail

Format: Blu-Ray/2CD
Artist: Big Big Train
Release Date: October 14, 2022