Echorec "The Island" Vinyl

Plane Groovy

Regular price $25.00

Echorec - The Island (Vinyl)
This is a Plane Groovy Release

This is Echorec’s debut album on double 140g vinyl.

Forming the band in 2015 through a shared love of classic 20th century Prog and modern iterations alike, Echorec.’s debut album The Island inspires a soundscape of discovery and familiarity, enveloping melodies and palpable virtuosity that compels the listener to find inspiration woven through the fabric of the entire album.

“Musically, I’m not sure who they sound like. There are moments that bring to mind Maschine, there are elements of Rush put in a blender with Radiohead, and seasoned with Beardfish, but no comparison really helps convey their true identity. The music is all about the songs rather than any overtly clever musicianship.

Perhaps the lengthy closing track The Lamb Returns is an exception. Given that the average length songs have more twists and turns than a slalom course, this journey is chock full of different time signatures, moods and themes, and it takes a few plays to begin to unravel it all, but it’s time well spent. If the idea of a seventeen-minute epic doesn’t thrill you, all I can say is it seems to slip by in half that time. This is no prog-by-numbers hackneyed epic, this is simply a song which takes that long to say what it needs to.” – Graham Thomas/The Progressive Aspect

Julian Kirk – Vocals, Guitars, Keyboards
Brad McGinty – Bass, Backing Vocals
Jake Aubrey – Drums, Backing Vocals


Side 1:

  1. Calling Of The Waters
  2. Safe At Home
  3. The Island

Side 2:

  1. Winds Of Time
  2. Darling, I
  3. Flown The Nest

Side 3:

  1. Seasons Change
  2. The Lamb Returns

Side 4:

  1. Overture


Format: Vinyl
Artist: Echorec
Release Date: February 29, 2020