Cyan "For King and Country" Blue 2 LP

Plane Groovy

Regular price $40.00

Cyan – For King and Country (Blue Double Vinyl)
This is a Plane Groovy Release.

This audiophile recording has received the Plane Groovy treatment on 140g double blue vinyl, with just 300 copies made.

Magenta’s Rob Reed has unveiled a brand new version of his band Cyan. The new-look-Cyan feature, alongside Reed on keyboards, vocalist Pete Jones (Tiger Moth Tales & Camel), guitarist Luke Machin (Maschine & The Tangent), and bassist Dan Nelson (Magenta & Godsticks).

The new album features material re-written, re-recorded and re-imagined from the bands early days and is in double LP format.

Reed exclaims “I remember the original Cyan, back in the 80s, made up of school mates, pooling our money, £35 to record them at a local 4 track studio with basic equipment. It’s been amazing to finally hear the songs at their full potential, with modern recording techniques and an amazing line up of players. I’d held off releasing this album because I couldn’t find a vocalist to do it justice. Meeting Pete ticked that box as soon as I heard him sing the first track. His voice just blends so good with Angharad Brinn, who I’d worked with on my Sanctuary solo albums. Having Luke play the guitar parts was just the icing on the cake. He is such a great player, with technique and feel. What a line up!”

“I had known about the reworking of ‘For King And Country’ for a while, so it was a great thrill to be asked by Rob to work with him on the project, alongside the other amazing musicians such as Luke, Dan and Angharad,” adds Jones “The songs are fantastic. They have a youthful and yet vintage quality to them, as well they might, given that they were first recorded in the early 90s. But with the benefit of Rob’s experience, they have been reworked into an album which I feel is right up there with the classics.”

Reed originally released three Cyan albums; the original For King And Country in 1993, Pictures From The Other Side (1994) and The Creeping Vine (1999).


Side 1:

  1. The Sorceror

Side 2:

  1. Call Me
  2. I Defy The Sun
  3. Don’t Turn Away

Side 3:

  1. Snowbound
  2. Man Amongst Men

Side 4:

  1. Nightflight
  2. For King And Country


Format: Blue Double Vinyl
Artist: Cyan
Release Date: June 10, 2022
Cat. No.: PLG110