Dim Gray "Flown" 2LP

Dim Gray

Regular price $32.00

Dim Gray - Flown (2LP)

Double 180g Black Vinyl in gatefold with lyric insert. Side D contains bonus tracks with live versions of “Again” and “Song for E.”. It also contains two tracks, “Paper Bird” and “Wakeless” which were recorded in the spring of 2015, as part of an ultimately abandoned attempt of a debut album.

The release of Dim Gray’s debut album was preceded by the four singles “Rath”, “Again”, “Light Anew” and “Ouroboros”. The album, titled Flown, is a concept album where the songs intertwine to form more than the sum of their parts, and in which the bands’ dedication to solid craftsmanship and desire to break new ground comes to light. Structured like one continuous story, the album tells a vivid tale of loss and loneliness that twists and turns. Quiet, intimate moments are contrasted by sections of massive soundscapes containing varied and colorful instrumentation. Rooted in the near-constants of aching vocals and trembling guitars, the album weaves its way from string-infused chamber pop through dark indie folk into grandiose art rock. Flown is an ambitious and distinct musical statement that evokes a blend of Radiohead, Fleet Foxes, Susanne Sundfor, Steven Wilson and Sigur Ros.

“Elegiac and beautifully dense post-prog from Norway … Music caught between dreaming and waking, losing yourself somewhere in the sky” – Prog (UK)

“The dream debut that every band hopes for and that few bands are capable of” – IO Pages (NL)

“I cannot remember having heard a stronger debut album. Revelation of the year.” – NRK ProgLogg (NO)

“Masterpiece. Norwegian Album of the Year.” – Disharmoni (NO)

“A better debut could not have been hoped for. 10/10.” – Musipedia of Metal (UK)

“This may be the only album that you ever need for the rest of your life.” – Velvet Thunder (UK)


Side A:

  1. Again
  2. The Wave We Thought We’d Ride Forever
  3. Closer
  4. Rath

Side B:

  1. Wandering
  2. Flown
  3. Light Anew
  4. Yore
  5. Song For E.

Side C:

  1. Dreamer’s Disease
  2. Ouroboros
  3. Black Sun

Side D: (Bonus Tracks)

  1. Again (Live)
  2. Song For E. (Live)
  3. Paper Bird (Extended Version)
  4. Wakeless

    Format: 2LP
    Artist: Dim Gray
    Release Date: June 12, 2020